Latest Ampath Alert


Infectious Diseases

Jan 17, 2021 | Microbiology

Influenza (“Flu”) is an infectious respiratory disease caused by the influenza virus. It can range from a mild infection to severe life-threatening disease. There are three main types of influenza viruses: influenza A, B and C. In South Africa, influenza infections are usually seen during our winter months, typically between April and October. Two subtypes (strains) of influenza A and one subtype of influenza B typically circulate in a given season. These are referred to as the circulating seasonal influenza strains.

Full Article